powered by FreeFind

Related Articles


Sponsor Ad

Chinese Culture >> Chinese Zodiac Astrology >> Chinese Astrology

Chinese Astrology in its Ancient Realm

Chinese astrology is the art of foretelling the future taken from the Chinese Calendar. It is based on ancient Chinese philosophy and astronomy with emphasis on the 60-year sexagenary cycle documented since the Shang Dynasty. The cycle has been created from two cycles such as the ten heavenly stems having the five elements in yin and yang forms as well as the twelve-year animal cycle also known as the Chinese zodiac. This animal zodiac runs on hours of the day and on a monthly cycle also known as moons.

Unlike the occidental zodiac, the
Chinese zodiac pertains to a calendrical cycle, which means that it does not have equivalent constellations. In imperial ages, some astrologers would watch the skies for omens to help predict the state's future, which was a different practice for prophesizing in today's time.

Chinese astronomers of the ancient time named the five major planets that correspond to their elements. These include Venus to Metal such as gold; Jupiter, Mercury, Mars and Saturn to Wood, Water, Fire and Earth respectively.
Chinese Astrology says that the destiny of a person can be determined by the placement of the major planets along with the sun, moon, comets, time of birth of the person as well as the zodiac sign. The twelve-year animal zodiac cycle was created based on observations from Jupiter's orbit. The celestial circle was divided into twelve sections following Suixing or the orbit of Jupiter, which is the also known as the Year of the Star. Suixing was rounded to 12 years and was associated with the Sheti.

Up until now,
Chinese Astrology uses a grueling system of computing the destiny and fate of a person based on his birthdays and hours of birth, also known as Zi Wei Dou Shu. Moreover, the 28 Chinese constellations and the 88 Western constellations are different as well. For instance, the Big Bear or Ursa Major is known as dou; Orion's belt or the Shen, also known as the demigods' Happiness, Fortune and Longevity trio. Xuan Wu refers to the seven northern constellations and is considered in Taoism as the spirit of Water or northern sky's spirit.

Moreover, in
Chinese Astrology, the basis of a lot of fairy tales is also taken from the stars. Such includes the Summer Triangle which is the trio of the Altair, Vega's the weaving maiden fairy and Deneb's tai bai fairy. You can refer to the Qi Xi for more of the story's versions.

About the Author:

Jack Moundon is a writer of, a site which provides information on astrology, astrological predictions, Chinese elements, zodiac signs and more